Fruitleather Album Release Show

2023-10-11

Above video was taken from an improvised set I played with my good friends over at Fruitleather for their album release show at Record Breakers. Also supporting Fruitleather were Seth Bearman (Small Batch Campari, amongst other things), Rama (Joshua Virtue), and Brianna Tong and Erik Novak (Cordoba, amongst other things). The format of Fruitleather's set involved a 20 minute improvised piece at the very beginning (footage of which i am still tracking down), 40 minutes of Fruitleather playing selections from their new album Finally, Some Music, and a 20 minute improvised piece at the very end, as seen above.

This was a lot of fun to participate in! I've spent the past couple years watching Fruitleather come into their own as musicians has been so incredibly wonderful. The instrumentation from my end involved two of my max patches: vic, which I have uploaded to my github, and mira, a synth made by tkzic on github which can be found here. It was my first time using my max patches in a live performance setting, as my other 2 live performances have both been using my microbrute, and I'm overall proud of how it turned out. If you hear something that sounds like an engine malfunctioning beyond the point of repair that's probably me lol